Italian Style Braised Short Ribs in Marinara Sauce with Spaghetti


Juicy, tender, melt in your mouth goodness! Short ribs braised in a tomato and wine based sauce and cooked until the meat falls apart. Add some al dente spaghetti, cheese and fresh basil. This is one delicious resaurant quality meal! Grab some garlic bread and a salad and dig in!

SR plate 1

Hi there,

David here. I want you to know that I’m moving One Stop Cook to a new location called Davids Free Recipes.com. You’ll find this Braised Short Ribs recipe by clicking this link. Braised Short Ribs

I hope you’ll enjoy this Braised Short Ribs recipe as well as many more at Davids Free Recipes.com. I look forward to seeing you there. Happy Cooking and I’ll see you on the other side!

Don’t forget to subscribe to get the latest news and recipes emailed right to your inbox!

David

About David

Hi everyone! David here. Just to let you know, I'm moving this blog to a new location. One Stop Cook will now be located at Davids Free Recipes.com For all of you that like this blog I invite you to take a look at my new site. It still has everything you see here and I'll be adding all of my new recipes over there. Go check it out, I think you'll like it. Davids Free Recipes.com For those of you that have subscribed here, you'll have to use the easy subscription form to keep up to date via email, just like here. I've also set up an RSS feed for those who prefer it over emails. I hope you'll have just as much enjoyment with the new site as you do here. I look forward to seeing you over there. Happy Cooking!! Davids Free Recipes.com
This entry was posted in Italian, Slow Cook Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Italian Style Braised Short Ribs in Marinara Sauce with Spaghetti

  1. Debby says:

    Hi David,
    I’m going to make this for a group of 24 people. Can you tell me should I double, triple or quaddruple this recipe? I’m thinking I willl need to cook it in batches because the only pan I have big enough is tall pasta pan and I don’t know if the bottom will cook better than the meat on top, hmmm. I guess I could keep stiring it but now sure if that is a good idea. I don’t even know if it will all fit in my crock pot. Any suggestions? Thank you David!

    • David says:

      Hi Debby,

      Thanks for asking. I do have a few suggestions for you.

      You’ll have to prepare things separately and then combine them. This is a lot of food so the stove top method really won’t work when you’re cooking for that many people.

      You’ll have to make the sauce separately from the short ribs and then combine them and bake it.

      The pasta can be done in your tall pasta pan but I’d cook the ribs and sauce in the oven.

      I’ll send you a detailed email explaining the methods I would use.

      I’m almost done writing it now so check your email for it :-)

      David

  2. Debby says:

    Made this last night and it was wonderful…. I skipped the de-glaze part b/c I didn’t understand it and didn’t know what kind of wine to use (red/white). By not making the “fond” I don’t know what I’m missing out on. This was yummy!!! The pork just fell apart I love it when it is fork tender.
    Thank you David!

    • David says:

      Hi Debby,

      I’m so glad you like it, it’s one of my favorite Italian dishes :-)

      I’m sorry I forgot to add the wine to the ingredient list (Oooops!). I used a Merlot (red) in mine.

      “Fond” (it’s a cooking term) is the little bits of stuff that stick to the bottom of the pan when frying the short ribs and veggies. By adding the wine to the hot skillet it basically “cleans” the bottom of the pan of all those little bits (the fond) and mixes it into the liquid giving it a richer flavor.

      When you added the water and tomato sauce and gave it a stir you basically “de-glazed” (cleaned) the fond (little bits) from the bottom of the pan so you’re not really missing out on anything but the extra flavor of the wine.

      I hope this explains that step and thank you for trying the recipe and I hope to see you back for more!
      Happy Cooking!
      David

  3. will says:

    it looks like you rinsed your pasta in water after you boiled it!

    • David says:

      Hi Will,

      I’ll rinse pasta sometimes when I think I’ll be saving some for another time, it keeps it from sticking together. A little olive oil also helps.
      David

Leave a Comment

