Mexican Style Machaca (Shredded Beef With Green Chili’s – 3 Recipes In 1) Machaca Burrito, Tacos Dorados, Machaca Con Huevos


This is a great idea for a dinner party, 3 recipes in 1! It starts off with a big batch of shredded beef (4lbs.) simmered slow until it starts to fall apart. It’s soooo tender and juicy, your gonna love it! Then we kick it up by adding sliced onions and Anaheim chili’s to give even more great flavor and texture. After the meat reaches perfection I made 3 different San Diego taco shop style recipes out of it. If you’re going to have friends and/or family over you’ll definitely have enough to go around. You can also freeze some for a later time for a quick meal. So, lets get started.

shredded beef burrito, shredded beef taco, machaca burrito

Hi there,

David here. I want you to know that I’m moving One Stop Cook to a new location called Davids Free Recipes.com. You’ll find this Machaca Recipe by clicking this link. Machaca Recipe

I hope you’ll enjoy this Machaca Recipe as well as many more at Davids Free Recipes.com. I look forward to seeing you there. Happy Cooking and I’ll see you on the other side!

Don’t forget to subscribe to get the latest news and recipes emailed right to your inbox!

David

About David

Hi everyone! David here. Just to let you know, I'm moving this blog to a new location. One Stop Cook will now be located at Davids Free Recipes.com For all of you that like this blog I invite you to take a look at my new site. It still has everything you see here and I'll be adding all of my new recipes over there. Go check it out, I think you'll like it. Davids Free Recipes.com For those of you that have subscribed here, you'll have to use the easy subscription form to keep up to date via email, just like here. I've also set up an RSS feed for those who prefer it over emails. I hope you'll have just as much enjoyment with the new site as you do here. I look forward to seeing you over there. Happy Cooking!! Davids Free Recipes.com
This entry was posted in Mexican and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mexican Style Machaca (Shredded Beef With Green Chili’s – 3 Recipes In 1) Machaca Burrito, Tacos Dorados, Machaca Con Huevos

  1. Courtney says:

    Hi David!

    I made the tacos for dinner and they were amazing! The flavor and texture of the meat was awesome! I made a few changes I thought I would share with you, first I reduced the salt to 1 1/4 tsp., I added 1/2 tsp. cumin and instead of all water I used water and a beer. So yummy!

    I just love your recipes and can’t wait to try more! Keep up the good work. ;-)

    Courtney

    • David says:

      Hi Courtney,

      Thank you so much for your kind words, I really appreciate it :-)

      I’m glad you altered the recipe to your liking and thanks for sharing what you did, it sounds delicious!

      It’s also nice to hear you’ll be trying more of the recipes. I have a few more in the works right now and hope to post them soon.

      Take care and Happy Cooking!
      David

  2. Ali says:

    Hi David,

    It’s cooking right now, two more hours and it will be ready, can’t wait to taste it!

    /Ali :-)

    • David says:

      Hi Ali,

      I think you’re going to like this a lot! Let me know which one of the 3 recipes you use it for or if you try all three. By the way, that salsa recipe I gave you goes really well on the tacos :-) Enjoy!
      David

      • Ali says:

        We’re going for the Machaca Burrtito with green chilies. The salsa will be added as a side with chips, will make a double batch to satisfy all 5 of us…
        I will make your mexican rice and pico as well and will try to see if I can find a good potato recipe, that can be added to some of the burritos.

        PS: The meat came out perfect, both in texture and taste!

        • David says:

          HI Ali,

          Great choice! That’s the first one I made too. The salsa will go very well with them and I think you’ll like the rice as well :-)
          I have an idea for the potatoes, this is just off the top of my head but I think this will work with the Machaca.
          Peel a few potatoes and dice them into about 1/2 inch cubes. Add them to a pan with enough cold water to cover. Bring them to a boil and then boil for about 10 minutes, turn off the heat and let stand in the water for about 5 minutes to finish cooking. Drain them using a strainer so all of the water is removed (you want them as dry as possible).
          Add some butter and oil together in a large skillet and melt over medium high to high heat. The oil will keep the butter from burning. Gently pour your dried cooked potatoes to the hot pan and stir or “flip” the potatoes to coat with the butter/oil.
          Lightly season with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin and chili powder. Just sprinkle over the top and then mix in.
          Once mixed, spread the potatoes out in a thin layer and leave them to cook for about 5-10 minutes, no stirring. Too much stirring will not let the potatoes brown. After about 5-10 minutes or so flip them and leave them alone. Once they start to brown it’s ok to stir. In about 20 or 25 minutes you’ll have a nicely browned fried potato dish you can add to the machaca.
          Note: Depending on how many potatoes you use the amount of butter and oil will vary. Just be sure to use enough to fully coat the potatoes. As for the seasonings, that will be to your taste. I recommended lightly seasoned as to not overpower the Machaca.
          Hope that helps you Ali and enjoy your dinner!
          David

  3. Kirk Mazzia says:

    Those “tacos dorados” look really good – now I’m hungry. Yes, the method of fastening the shells together for frying is quite traditional.

    It all looks pretty good except for some terminology: The first burrito appears to be a “machaca burrito”, while the second a “machaca con huevos” burrito.

    Machaca is simply shredded meat cooked in its own juices with seasonings. So that means your “shredded beef with green chilies” is actually a machaca recipe :)

    • David says:

      Hi Kirk,

      Thanks for the heads up! I’ve changed the “terminology” to make it right.

      Growing up in San Diego where there is a taco shop on almost every corner I got used to their terminology and I guess everyone has a different style. One taco shops version of a shredded beef burrito may have chili’s where as another one may not. The same holds true with the tacos and machaca, all though every “machaca” burrito I ordered had eggs in it, I guess that’s just how “they” make them.

      Anyway, thanks for setting me straight and I hope you’ll try the recipe. One thing I do know is that this is a delicious recipe :-)

      Thanks again and Happy Cooking!
      David

      • Kirk Mazzia says:

        No problem; happy to help. Actually I had the same impression about machaca growing up in Ventura, CA, until i moved to LA and a Mexican friend set me straight. The term “tacos dorados” (golden tacos) can also apply to taquitos or flautas in Mexico, but in the US I mostly see them offered as we know them – taquitos and flautas.

        • David says:

          Hi Kirk,

          Thanks again for your input, it was really helpful. I guess a lot of SoCal people have the same idea about machaca being a “shredded beef burrito with eggs”. I’m glad you gave me the heads up. I also never heard the term “tacos dorados” but I guess there are so many non espanol speaking people that go to the taco shops in California that they had to use easy to understand “terminology”. Anyway, thanks again and Mexican food rocks! Take care.
          David

  4. kevin says:

    This website is amazing and reminds me of growing in san bernardino. Now that I live in new york, my mexican food selections are very weak unless I make my own. Do you have a homemade chorizo recipe by any chance.

    • David says:

      Hi Kevin,

      Thanks for the compliment, I really appreciate it! I hear all the time about how there is no good Mexican food on the east coast and I always wonder why that is.
      About the chorizo. I don’t have my own chorizo recipe… Yet :-) To make it right requires time, patience and a meat grinder and here in California it’s just too easy to pick it up at any local store. I have a variety to choose from as well, sooo, I did a little checking around for you and came up with 2 recipes for you. One is made the “right” way and one that is much easier but not as authentic. Here are the links for you to check out.

      #1 “Cheaters Chorizo” (this is the easy one)

      #2 “Oaxacan Style” (more authentic)

      I hope that helps and thanks again for your comment.
      Happy Cooking!
      David

  5. kat says:

    such a great idea using toothpicks to hold them shut while frying!!! i didn’t even think of that when i was making fried tacos :(

    • David says:

      Hi Kat,

      Isn’t it? I learned this trick years ago and its helped me ever since. No longer do my tacos open up while I’m frying them and ruin the oil. Please let me know what you think of the recipe, I’m always looking for input to help me improve.
      Thanks for commenting and Happy Cooking!
      David

Leave a Comment

